Wait On Her. She’s Worth It.


When I was a younger man I used to stress out so much when my wife was running late. As I think I mentioned, I was married once before for almost twenty years. During that time, we were late hundreds of times, to dinner engagements, to weddings, to family events, to just about everything. I was a stress case every time. I began worrying hours before we were to be anywhere together. I began plotting ways to facilitate an on time arrival. I dropped hints. I checked on her progress. I very inconspicuously mentioned the time, which was not so inconspicuous. By twenty minutes before we were supposed to leave anywhere, I had managed to add to my stress by stressing her out as well. It never helped. Not one time. It only proceeded to ruin whatever time we spent at every event we may have been attending.

Today, I really try not to do that. I have the most beautiful, kind, caring, considerate wife. I want more than anything to make her happy. Even more, I want to enjoy all the time I have with her. I can only do that by not adding to the stress and trouble that life already inherently has. I have learned that being late to personal engagements are not that big of a deal. Sure, I would love to be on time wherever we go. And I know that to the people we are meeting, being on time is likely very important. But in my experience, women need more time to get ready. Everything about the way they look is really important. And they do tend run late. But rushing them has never yielded much success. More importantly, there is not one person that we are ever going to see that is more important than the one we are taking with us. None will be in the car as we drive together to the event. A great opportunity to talk, to laugh, to deepen our relationship. A time which is almost assuredly ruined by freaking out while your lady is getting ready. None will lay down next to you in bed at the end of the day. I don’t want to ruin that time with my wife.

I cannot emphasize enough how useless this is. Forget it. Don’t worry if your going to be late. Don’t worry about what anyone else might think of you. Put that energy into working on what your wife or girlfriend thinks of you. Put your efforts in an area that can change your life. Change your relationship. It will yield you great happiness. It won’t likely get you anywhere any earlier. But it will show the woman you love, that you do love her. That she is the most important person in your life. And that will make all things better. If your lucky, showing her that grace might help her to extend some grace to you. And we all know that we have plenty of areas that we might need a little grace as well.

Give her WHAT SHE NEEDS FROM YOU. A man that is greater than all others. A man that adores her. A man that is to committed to her above all others. Her Prince Charming.

5 Responses to Wait On Her. She’s Worth It.

  1. ithinkandwrite says:

    Hi Ken,

    Thanks for writing this awesome blog. And thanks for understanding what women are. Libby

  2. Ken Kendall says:

    Thank you for reading. I hope you will keep coming back for more.

  3. Great blog and again . . . words of wisdom. If you treat a woman like this . . . they too will start doing all they can to please their guys too.

    Good thoughts!
    Sarah
    http://laughwithsarah.wordpress.com/

  4. Ken Kendall says:

    That is what is think so many men miss. That if you do these things for the woman you love, they all come back tenfold. It is just like tithing.

    I have told many men, if you find that you are selfish, wanting things to be done for you, be selfish to the max. Be so selfish in your desires being met that you do so much for your wife that she can’t help but want to take care of you and your needs as well. I have a post going up soon about this very thing.

  5. Des says:

    For years I had issues with my wife not being on time for church. Me and the kids would sit in the van waiting while she did her thing making us 20 to 30 minutes late. The kids complained that they were missing out on their programs and wanted to be on time. We discussed it and no change happened. Then one day I was listening to John Townsend talk about people who are chronically late. It seems they have a narcissistic personality and the best way to deal with it is to ignore the behavior.

    So the next weekend, we left without her. Yikes, that didn’t go over very well, but we continued each week and now the stress is gone, the kids are happy and my wife is happy to be able to take her time without rushing. Doesn’t work too well with vacations though.

Leave a Reply

