I learned to KISS when I was very young.


Oh come on! You didn’t really think I was talking about kissing, did you? I meant I learned to K.I.S.S. Keep It Simple Stupid. Showing your girl how much you love her is not about buying her expensive gifts everyday, though every once in a while it sure doesn’t hurt. It’s not about expensive vacations. It’s not about extravagant plans or proving it to the world. It’s simply about changing her world. One thought, one action, one kiss, one word at a time.

We men make this thing called  love way too complex. We think it is too much effort and work. But it’s not. Keep it simple. Kiss her every time you have to leave her. Kiss her every time you come back to her. Tell her you love her. Listen to her. Look at her like you are amazed by her beauty when you see her across a room. Leave her a note in her purse telling her something you love about her. Take her car and fill it up with gas so she doesn’t have to. Wake up before her and go get her favorite coffee drink and bring it to her in bed. Stop by her work and tell her you were missing her. Text her to tell her you love her and were thinking about her. Rub her feet if she likes it. Clear the table after dinner.Tell her she is beautiful. Tell her you love her outfit. Keep it simple.

There are thousands of things you can do everyday that will rock her world. That will confirm that you really do care. That you do love her. That you are in love with her. Don’t wait for the home run. Don’t wait for something that knocks it out of the park. Base hits win the game.

Take the time today to think of ways that you can do this for her. Make her a priority in your life. This is really more about changing you. Making you a better person.

12 Responses to I learned to KISS when I was very young.

  1. ramzulalam88 says:

    hey, thanks for visiting mine, i already replied urs in my blog. anyway. i agree with wht u said. but do u mind i ask for ur advises?

    my girlfriend going to further her studies abroad, United Kingdom. we going to be apart for 2 years. im here in Malaysia.

    how am i goin to deal with this?
    i love her so much

    • Ken Kendall says:

      ramzulalam33,

      First of all I hope you and your girlfriend have Skype or some other great way to keep in touch by webcam.

      Next, Is she the girl that you want to spend the rest of your life with? Does she feel the same way?

      If the answer to both questions is yes, than do the following:

      1. Support her completely. Encourage her in her endeavors to better herself. She seems committed to being a better woman for you if she loves you.

      2. Take the next two years to do the same thing for yourself. If you are in school, complete it with your best work. If you are done with school, start or improve your career so you can be a good provider. There is nothing more important for a man than to be able to provide adequately for his family.

      3. Stay in contact with her daily. By text. By email. By phone. Whatever you can do. Encourage her daily. Never make her feel bad for doing what she is doing. Let her miss you but don’t make her feel bad.

      4. Seek the knowledge and wisdom of others you respect in how to be a great husband and father if that is something you will be doing as well. Prepare yourself for your role as husband, just as you would prepare for a career.

      If you are in love with her, you are being blessed with a two year period where you both can focus on improving yourselves before you give yourselves to one another.

      Time really passes very quickly. Treasure even the tough times.

  2. demetershouse says:

    That’s exactly it–the little things are the things that mean the most 😉

    Thanks for visiting my blog, Ken!

    • Ken Kendall says:

      It was my pleasure. It’s great. Somebody commented to me about how this is really “focused attention.” So I wrote a follow up to this called just that. Check it out if you have a minute.

      Thanks for your time and thoughts.

  3. justelisa says:

    Fabulous! You are so right. So many women would love to be loved like this. Bravo!!

    • Ken Kendall says:

      Thank you so much. Please check back often. Tell other about this blog. I want to help people have great marriages and relationships.

  4. storylinegirl says:

    You make an interesting point about simplicity. Whether in romantic relationships or not, things shouldn’t be complicated. They did say love is in the details. There’s no need for elaborate plans, just getting her that cup of coffee is enough to manifest that you care.

    • Ken Kendall says:

      So true. I find that it is usually the easiest things to satisfy that mean the most. Yet they do take consistent intentional thought about someone other than ourselves and men seem to need more work in this area.

  5. ramzulalam88 says:

    thanks soooo much for ur advises..appreciate it exceedingly much

  6. Bonnie Rue says:

    I love that you used a sports metaphor. It made me laugh and it perfectly illustrated your point to the audience you are trying to reach. Wish I were more of a sports fan so I could break it down to the dudes in my life (my friends & my mister). What I took away from your post is purely communication. Which men are not always so capable of. You don’t always have to say something to communicate how you feel. Like storylinegirl said – that cup of coffee makes all the difference.

    • Ken Kendall says:

      Funny you would say that. I am not such a sports fan myself but certainly have the basics down. When that came to me I found myself laughing. I wasn’t sure if it wasn’t a little too easy. Thanks for the feedback.

      As far as communication, you are so right. Present author included. Men just seem to be short suited here. I don’t know if it really is that we don’t have the skill available like women, or more likely, it is just easier not to deal with it. I know when I get my feelings hurt, I shut down like Fort Knox. But Janine won’t let me get away with it. I am so outgoing at all other times that it is so obvious. She stays on it until I tell her what is going on. I wish I could just cut out all that wasted time and tell her what I am thinking from the beginning. Definitely something to work on.

      Thanks for your comment. Please check-in often and let me know your thoughts. Also, if you disagree with anything or have a different perspective, let me know. It would really help me do a better job here.

Leave a Reply

