Find daily acts of service to do for her.


When it comes to being a great husband, practice really does make perfect. Or should I say closer to perfect. One of the things that seems to frustrate so many men is that they don’t think they can do all the things it takes to make their wives happy. That’s just not true. Mostly because it doesn’t take you doing everything she wants to make her happy.

Many men have become lost on their quest to be great husbands because they have heard so many times the list of things they have failed at or not done. The road back is not through fixing everything you might have done poorly in the past. It is in starting today to do things differently.

You would be amazed at how much the little things really matter. If you make a list of things that your wife has mentioned to you that she would like you to do, you will see that it is really not that big of a deal. It is usually nothing more than being a partner in the work at home. Not leaving everything for her to do.

Some of the things I have on my daily acts of service list are things I should have been doing all along. But even though I should have been doing them, Janine is so appreciative of the fact that I do them that it is like I am doing them for her. Things like putting my clothes in the hamper when I take them off. Picking up my shoes from wherever I leave them when I take them off and putting them away. Taking out the trash before she mentions it or does it herself.

Other things are really me going out of my way to show her she is important and that I am thinking of her. But they are still small, somewhat insignificant and don’t cost much if anything at all. I will often get up before her and go get her favorite coffee drink. Sometimes I will do this even before I go to work. I also will take her car and fill the gas tank so she doesn’t have to do it when she is rushing around in her day. Other times I will go and buy her a gift certificate from her favorite store for her to go shopping. Sometimes I will see her working or cleaning and just get up and ask her how I can help.

It is not about what you do. It is about having a heart of service to the woman you love. It is about helping carry the load of responsibility for our home and family. It is about making a concerted effort of love towards her. It is about doing rather than existing. If you do the work, the relationship will work.

4 Responses to Find daily acts of service to do for her.

  1. Sajib says:

    Well, this post is making me sad because she isn’t around me. We both live in different countries. She had grown up in my country and this is her motherland too. But she is staying abroad with her family. I have no idea when I will get her in my arms. I have never seen her. But I want to hold her on my arms and take care of her each and every minute.

    Pray for me so that one day we can be together for ever and ever. I mean, marriage.

  2. Andrea says:

    My husband is really good about this. In fact, if he weren’t there to do the laundry and the dusting (my most hated chore) then our house would be a total pit and no one likes to live in a pit. I do appreciate his help in so many ways, because his extra help means that I can take a breather now and then, or spend a few extra minutes with the kids, getting in quality time I’m always trying to find in the midst of busy lives. It really is a huge help knowing that I can just take the kids upstairs for their bath right after dinner knowing that he’ll clean up the dinner dishes. That way, I don’t come down after an hour facing a congealed mess in the kitchen. It does make our lives feel like a partnership, and it does not go unnoticed.

    • Ken Kendall says:

      Isn’t that what we all thought we were getting into……a partnership? I know I did. Do most people realize that when they get married?

Leave a Reply

