Are you successful?


As men, we often measure our success by how big our house is, how much money is in our bank accounts, and whether or not we have the corner office. I don’t think any of these things are accurate indicators of our success. I can tell you for myself, I have had times of great financial success, and I have had and am still having times of drought. And I feel more successful today, without any financial comfort, than I ever have.

Cullen Hightower once said, “The true measure of your worth includes all the benefits others have gained from your success.” I totally agree. I count myself successful not for the riches I have once held, but for the effects I am having in the lives of those I love.

I have a daughter that has given me a grandson that I love with all my heart. I am trying to be a father figure for him as his dad passed away before he was born. I have a son, that I have spent hundreds of hours talking with about life, love and things of this world. He lives in San Francisco now and is successful in living and learning. He is writing and sharing his experiences as well.

I have a daughter that has just started college, I see her growing into a woman who I am so proud of. She is developing relationships that have meaning and depth. And I have a son, that lives with my wife and I, and because we love him, spend time with him, nurture him, he is adapting to a new life with strength and confidence.

I have two step-children that I love and am starting to influence. I do homework with them, I spend time with them, I comfort them. I teach them right from wrong. And then there is my wife. I try everyday to give her the benefit of being loved, being adored, being needed. Giving her the confidence to be the incredible wife and mother that she is.

It is the effect that I have in all their lives that will reflect whether I am successful or not. It will not be because I bought them things or left them an inheritance when I am gone.

Take everyday to work on your success. Read to your children. Take them to the batting cages. Play a game of chess with them. Whatever they are into, get into it too. Love your wife by loving your kids.Take your wife on a meaningful date. Give her your time, your attention, your commitment. Make your life a life of impact on those you love.

7 Responses to Are you successful?

  1. proso35 says:

    Great read!!

  2. Cindy Holman says:

    Awesome – totally agree!

  3. nettrobbens says:

    You are a real-life example of a romantic hero–strong, loving and a family man. May all my heroes be so wonderful! Thank you for sharing!

    Nett

    • Ken Kendall says:

      What a nice compliment. That is how I feel about my wife. She is literally a dream come true.

      Thank you for your kind words.

  4. A.GuyMaligned says:

    Ken,
    Yes, I read many of your articles. I emailed you to suggest we exchange links via blogrolls. I’m at http://wwnh.wordpress.com. Whatcha think?
    Guy

  5. […] I don ‘t think any of these things are very indicative of our success. Ken Kendall; Cancel your plans for her . September 23, 2009. For many of us, as we get married, have kids, start careers, and take on all the responsibilities of adulthood , … Time passes as we prove our love and we are able to finally cement the deal. We take this incredible woman we have given everything for and make her our wife . All is good and there are nothing but big dreams and happy days ahead. …Continue Reading […]

Leave a Reply

