Perseverance


I was recently talking with my dad about business. Which I must say for both of us is not well at this point. We both have our own businesses and have experienced great success at times as well as times of great struggle. Today we both are in one of those times of struggle.

In talking with him I realized that one of the greatest lessons I learned from my dad he rarely ever talked about. He only demonstrated it everyday. That is to persevere. He has been the greatest example of getting up everyday, no matter what you know you will face that day, and just persevering. Never giving up. He has in no way insinuated that he has all the answers or that everything is always great. But what he has shown me is that if I don’t give up, I can work through what ever struggles I have by showing up and facing them.

Looking forward with that experience, I know that I can apply the same ethics and commitment of perseverance to my marriage. With the understanding that there will be tough times in my marriage, I can choose to get up everyday and face them with the knowledge that I don’t have to have all the answers, I just have to remain committed to the plan. To love my wife when times are good or bad. To show her that I am here for the long haul no matter what we face together.

Accept the fact that you don’t have all the answers. Accept the fact that you don’t know what to do in every situation. Accept the fact that when things are not the way you want them to be,  you don’t have to give up. You can’t give up. You just have to persevere. Stand firm in your commitment to your wife. Stand strong beside your wife and face the struggles you find yourselves in. Show her that no matter what life has for the two of you, it will always be the two of you. As one.

6 Responses to Perseverance

  1. Well said, I could not of said it better. I admire supportive, warm, caring men. It takes a strong man to support and love his wife.

    Great job,

    Vanessa Million
    http://vanessamillion.wordpress.com/2009/09/28/as-i-give-to-others/

    • Ken Kendall says:

      Hi Vanessa,

      Sorry it took me so long to respond. I am having a hard time keeping up with the comments.

      Thank you for your kind words. I truly do love and support my wife and want more and more men to do the same for their wives.

      I hope you will continue to come and read the posts.

  2. ashleycharisma says:

    Nicely said.

  3. J says:

    I was directed here via Vanessa Leigh’s Blog and found this to be a very uplifting post to read. I think that the lesson your father demonstrated is invaluable and can be used in every area of life. Thank you for sharing

    Best wishes

    J

    • Ken Kendall says:

      Thanks J. You are so right. There is not a single area of our lives that would not be improved by our willingness to persevere.

Leave a Reply

